DON JAZZY , HIS GRASS TO GRACE STORY. A MUST READ


celeb

This week , Our Celebrity of the week is a Multi-talented ,hardworking , Multi-award winning music producer ,singer-songwriter, musician, also a philanthropist and former chief executive officer of Nigerian top record label Mo’ Hits Records,currently CEO of the Mavin Records label.He is No other than DON JAZZY .  His story is one for all to read . From an akara seller to Biggest Boss in Entertainment Industry.

2014-02-05_1034

Micheal Collins Ajereh popularly known by his stage name “DON JAZZY” was born on November 26 1982 in Umahia ,Abia state , Eastern Nigeria and hails from Delta state.

His family moved to Ajegunle city in Lagos state where he was raised . He attended Federal Government College Lagos.

ONE YEAR OLD DON JAZZY

His talents were from childhood as he started playing drums and doing a little bit of singing from age 4.
His University education was at Ambrose Alli University Ekpoma in Edo state study Business Management . He moved to London in the United Kingdom in 2000 after his Uncle invited him to come play the drums for the neighborhood Church.

8 YEAR OLD DON JAZZY

Don Jazzy wasn’t born with a silver spoon in his mouth like most people. He had a humble and very little beginning . He did various types of odd jobs that you wouldn’t imagine . So never look own on your days of humble and little beginnings.

Don jazzy had done various jobs even working at McDonalds and as a security guard. So you can imagine .
During his stay in UK , he met and mingled with artiste in the likes Solek, JJC, Kas, The 419 squad and D’Banj. He worked on production for some of the Uk’s top musicians including Lemar, the hit music group Big brovaz and Nigerian based group JJC and the 419 squad.

In 2004 , he and D’banj partnered up to form Mo’Hits music label .
Within two years, the prolific producer had wrapped up two albums (No Long Thing and Rundown/Funk You Up) with his former Mo’ Hits partner and was working on a third, Curriculum Vitae. By this time, he had already started becoming a household name with the trademark intro – It’s Don Jazzy Again!

It seems his relationship life is not yet open to the public and his fans , but in a little interview, he said

“I’m single because I’ve not found the woman that my spirit agrees with. I was once married in the United Kingdom, but it was short lived. The union produced a son named after me. I don’t want to experience a collapsed marriage again. That is why I am taking my time, working and praying for a soul mate,” he says.

But What Does He Really Find Attractive in a Woman?

“The way she looks, talks and how she carries herself. With due respect to slim ladies, there is no way any lady shaped like a broom can attract my full attention. I’m sorry but that’s the truth.

“My ideal woman must be God-fearing. She must have all the basic curves in the right places. The rounder and bigger her chest and backside, the better,” he says.

After the split between he and his partner D’banj which was dure Don Jazzy and D’Banj broke their business relationship in Mohits Records early 2012 after weeks of speculation on a rift between them.
to unknown differences, He started a new label —- MAVIN RECORDS on MAY 7 which was announced on twitter.

 TO    

Mo’Hits was founded in 2004 whileMavin was  founded in May 2012 after his split up with childhood friend and Mo’Hits partner, D’banj.

The transition from Mo’Hits to Mavin was a huge trying period for Donjazzy. In an interview When he was asked what his most trying period as an entertainer?

 I would say the first year of Mavins Records. The transition from Mo-Hits to Mavins Records was quite trying because the fans were heartbroken just as we were heartbroken, so they were not even giving us a chance at that period. It took a while for them to heal, so it kind of slowed a lot of things down. Even though we churned out a lot of music then, they didn’t want to hear us because they were upset. We churned out like 45 songs in a year. That’s a lot of work, but they just zoomed out. Well, I knew that it wasn’t going to be that easy, but then I was like okay! I’m just going to keep on making music, I don’t care if I make hundred and you guys don’t listen to them. I like them, I listen to them in my house, so I will just keep making (more); even if it’s just one person that is listening to it, that’s good enough for me. I’ll continue making it.

Whether the music that I’m making now is going to give me money or not, I’ll keep making it because I like making music. There are some people that complain that I like to sing now – I’ve been singing from day one. I like to sing and I’ll keep singing, so they should not disturb themselves. I’m not quitting anytime soon and there’s nothing that would make me stop except they come and kidnap the computer in my house that I use to make music with my keyboard too (General laughter). Other than that, I will keep making it, keep posting it on the internet (Laughs). E no dey hard me now to promote, you understand. It’s not different anymore, so I’m having fun doing what I do now. But that first year was very trying. Now, everything is beautiful o! Life is beautiful with MTN. Everywhere we go, they show us love; MTN love.—Don jazzy

Music has changed the life of Don Jazzy and that of his Family


It’s not just me. Changing my family’s life is also changing my life. It has generally changed my life and the life of my generation. There is no way that we envisaged or saw this coming or things being this perfect from when I was a child. That boy selling akara in Ajegunle and doing agidi and stuff.

There’s no way I would have thought things would be like this; there’s no time I saw myself flying out of the country and now I have like four passports with stamps. So, I think it’s just God. God has done it; He has done it.. He said

He loves food o!Ah!  different types of food. So Future and prospective Wifey take note o . He doesn’t have a particular kind of food that I like.

I like food and I can eat heaven and earth (General laughter). I dey eat well well. I don’t like oyinbo food, I like African dishes. Talk of rice, pounded yam, eba, okro, banga soup, plantain, fried egg, fried in the Nigerian way o! With all those pepper, tomatoes and all those things……

He has had awards and nominations  of which a few are Nigerian Music Awards (NMA) 2006 Producer of the Year, Nigerian Entertainment Awards 2007 Music Producer of the Year,The HEADIES (2011) – PRODUCER OF THE YEAR

He was listed in forbes september 2013 as one of the Richest Musicians in Nigeria .

Don Jazzy is a very Humble individual as he always gives credits and appreciations to those who merit it . Regardless of the seperation between him and D’banj , he still thanks him . Check out the tweet below

Thanks for reading  our “Celebrity of the week” for this week , I hope you have learnt something . Lesson learnt . Do not despise days of Humble beginnings . You might start small , but still put all your effort and be diligent and definitely one day you will achieve bigger things and be at the top .

HARD WORK PAYS!!!!! Congrats to the king of beats

DON_JAZZY_

See you next week for another CELEBRITY OF THE WEEK series..

To recommend your nominated person or celeb for this series, send an email to evaetese@gmail.com

About evatese

im just me.find out more!

Posted on February 5, 2014, in CELEBRITY OF THE WEEK and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I just say dis, I like your group, keep it off.

  2. Nice one Eva. — Tumi

So what is your opinion? drop comments here

